murp

I wrote this post Wednesday when I was pretty down about schtuff.

I’m posting it now because this week has been so crazy.

 

Hi WTR!

I know it’s been a long time since I last posted, but that’s just how life goes.

And life’s certainly going. Junior year is crazy busy! So many things that require my attention, and all of them are super important.

Today has not been a good day. I took the PSAT this morning, hoping to be able to make it into the National Merit (words) and get that sweet scholarship money, but I felt like I bombed it. And it sucks, because I’ve spent quite a bit of time practicing for it. And the part that’s killing me is that I won’t be able to see my score for like a month.

And I had another important test that afternoon. I’m taking an online college algebra class for dual-credit, and I had a test that I had to get done. And I got a 70% after feeling pretty sure about all of my answers, so yeah…

And on that note, my video project is also going kinda meh. The first premiere is next Thursday, so I was hoping to get everything done before this weekend, but now there’s no way that will happening. I’m working on color grading my shots right now, which is the process of bring out certain colors to make the film look at good as it can. And right now, that’s not that good.

As I’m sitting here being down about basically everything in my life, I’m thinking, “Dangit Grant, why are you being so hard on yourself?”

And I really think I know the answer. I have ridiculous expectations for myself that I know I can’t meet, but judge myself against these ridiculous standards. I gave it my all for these projects. I worked hard for my PSAT, so now I trust God for the result, whatever it may be. I raised $665 for my film project from people that wanted to help me become a better filmmaker. I saw the process from conception of the idea to execution of the idea. And I worked crazy hard for it.

So now I’m blogging about it. Simply because I want to share it with anyone who cares.

I think this is something I’m going to do now. I want to write blog posts that aren’t super polished or super creative on a more consistent basis. I want to share simply to do the act of sharing. And at least in my head, that’s what Where Thunder Roars is for.

Anyone remember Postaday2011? I’m thinking of doing something similar, at least for a personal goal. I want to put out a blog post at least once a week until the end of this school year. I’m not going to set a topic goal or anything, I just want to write.

That is all.

Comment on this Post

