The Importance of Beginner’s Mistakes

And my film isn’t what I wanted it to be, but I learned things.

Yay.

The Pursuit of Grace

Hey everyone,

Normally when I sit and try to write a Pursuit of Grace blog post, I attempt to make it as formal as possible. I try to do some research and sound educated while discussing my experiences. I want to leave a good impression when talking about this project. But sometimes that can seem fake, like I’m trying to be something I’m not.

I’ve fought so hard to make sure the Pursuit of Grace wasn’t just another amateur film by someone who didn’t know what they were doing. I was sure I wouldn’t make all the mistakes beginners normally do. I watched so many videos about mistakes others had made, hoping I could eliminate them. I worked crazy hard on my script. I thought I had my shooting week planned out fairly well, until it whooshed by.

Behind my mask of faux professionalism, I was clueless.

I wrote long…

View original post 363 more words

3 thoughts on “The Importance of Beginner’s Mistakes

  1. Whenever I try something I have little experience with, and it doesn’t work out the way I planned, I try to tell myself “I can only improve from here”. You’ve got to make mistakes to go places (sadly).

    Pursuit of Grace is going to be a great film, and it’ll help you make made bigger, even better films in the future. Even if it doesn’t turn out like you planned, you’re going look back and see how far you’ve come.
    I’m so proud of you for one, admitting your mistakes, and two, working so hard to make this happen regardless.

    1. I think one of my main problems I had was setting my expectations and hopes too high.

      Thanks so much! Right now in the creative process is when I absolutely hate everything about the film, but hopefully once the stress is over I can finally be proud of what I’ve done.

      I’d love to hear your thoughts on the film so far (pursuitofgrace.com/wtr)

      1. Yeah, honestly, even in school: they tell you not to expect to make anything really GOOD. You’ll make things you’re proud of, you’ll make things that look good on your reel and teach you stuff, but you won’t make anything objectively GOOD. Because you’re learning! and nobody is good at anything until they learn how.

Comment on this Post

