Talking to a Camera

About a week ago, I was working on trying to promote my film to my Facebook friends. I thought it would be a good idea to preface some of the content I had worked on earlier. I decided it would be best to simply talk genuinely about my film and my need for donations.

But I just couldn’t do it.

I have a pretty legit setup for doing that kind of video. I have 2 soft boxes, a tripod, and a stationary boom microphone to make just that type of video. I rehearsed what I would say while setting up my equipment. I thought I was prepared to make a great introduction video. However, I couldn’t make even a mediocre video. The video ended up looking “meh” at best. But worse than the poor video quality was my awkwardness. Even though I genuinely believed what I was saying, it seemed forced and fake. I seemed uncomfortable, and even though I tried to reshoot twice, it was something I just couldn’t shake.

This is a syndrome Thomas “Tomska” Ridgewell called “Actoring.” It’s where you try to over compensate for the camera, like where you think you can’t just be yourself. It’s not being comfortable with who you are for the camera. So I thought I had a solution.

I had my mom help me with the third and final reshooting. She would ask me questions about my film and I would answer them as if she wasn’t there. Though it was significantly better than the other two AWFUL takes, it still wasn’t good enough for me to be willing to release under the name of my film and ask for money for that kind of work. I ended up just providing those details in the text above the video on Facebook, but I’m still kind of disappointed that I couldn’t genuinely talk about my project to a camera.

I think this is something that I just need experience to overcome. Tom says vlogging is great to help overcome actoring, so maybe someday I’ll start vlogging.

Or maybe I won’t.

One thought on “Talking to a Camera

  1. Haha, yeah, I know plenty of people who are lots of fun on their own… not so much when they’re in front of a camera! It’s a pretty common thing!

    Sounds like you’re overcoming it, though!! Hurrah for facing our weaknesses, right?

Comment on this Post

