Marketing a Product That Doesn’t Exist Yet

[Before I begin, I know that my grammar and syntax aren’t perfect. I start quite a few sentences with conjunctions. But that’s the way I write when I’m just letting ideas organically flow out. I could edit it to be more pristine, but I think it loses the authenticity of me talking as I think. So just bear with the grammar.]

 

I’ve never had to opportunity to do anything like my film project, The Pursuit of Grace, before. It’s an awesome opportunity to do something I’ve never done before. But because I’ve never done anything like this before, I have to learn how to effectively use the tools I have before going out and shooting a bunch of mediocre footage.

Anyone who knows anything about creating high quality content knows that this endeavour for quality costs cash money. And as a 16-year-old without a car or a driver’s license, I can’t get a summer job without inconveniencing my family. So I decided to do something new and exciting for me- crowdfunding.

Crowdfunding is such a cool concept people help make my dreams a reality so that they can help my development as a amateur film creator. But before I just go out and ask for people’s money, I have to give them a reason to think I can actually produce the content they are donating for. This requires marketing. But I found it’s pretty hard to market something that isn’t in existence yet. Sure, I have a script, but it’s just a draft right now. It’s not finished yet.

I used my experience with WordPress blogs (THANKS WTR) to create what I think is a pretty sexy looking website – link here – that contains little information about the video but just enough so that people can gauge what it’s about.

Website Screenshot

Maybe content on the website is too scarce, but I don’t want to overhype something and have people disappointed when my first film project isn’t extremely high quality. I’m pumped to make it, but I don’t think it will be great. I’m prepared for it to be a learning experience. That’s kind of why I was afraid to ask for donations. When people give money, it gives a sense of weight to what they donated to. I now have the added responsibility to use the money in a wise way. And that kinda scares me. What if I don’t live up to the expectation of those who donated?

All this in my head, I set up my GoFundMe right before I left for Europe (possible WTR post on this soon). I tried to clearly articulate my goal for the film, and say what the money would go for (props, transportation, microphone rental, food, all the good stuff).  After I finally completed the promotional materials to an acceptable level,  I shared the links on Facebook, and within 24 hours had made $150! It’s amazing how people will help someone new to something so freely!

I’m super pumped about this project. I’m currently doing a complete rewrite of the script, making it seem more conversational and believable. It’s hard to make something scripted flow like real-life conversation!

Anyways, ramble over. God is good to provide family members that donate to help make my dreams come true.

[I’m sorry for the how unclear and rambly this post is. Maybe organic flow isn’t the best way to communicate ideas. Maybe next post I’ll comb through it afterwards and clean it up. Thanks for making it through though. Have a great day.]

4 thoughts on “Marketing a Product That Doesn’t Exist Yet

  1. That’s awesome!! I’m so super happy for you–finally getting that project you’ve been wanting to do off the ground feels SO GOOD!!

    And i admire your maturity, haha–not a lot of people can admit that they’re gonna create something “not good”–I think you may surprise yourself! 😛

    1. It’s so fulfilling to see something I’ve been working on for six months now finally seems “real.”

      I’m really hoping I do create something great, but I’m still just a 16-year-old writing a story about other 16-year-olds. I”d love to think it’ll be great, but then I look at what others have created and my lack of experience.

  2. Think of it this way: It might not be your best, but it’ll be your first. That’s pretty important.
    You can look back at it as you keep getting better, and see how far you’ve come.

Comment on this Post

