The Scooter, the Doctor and the Wardrobe

Hello, old chaps! How are you? It’s been a while since I sat down and wrote a post – though it’s the same for all others on this blog! I really hope that WTR won’t die out, at least not yet. But it’s been nearly month between this post and the last… Not good news…

This morning my dad barged into my room at eight o’clock in the morning, which is a very, very bad thing to do if I’m in that bed and it’s the school holidays. Which it is – until the 8th of Oct. But he was carrying something with him, something quite substantially large. He looked super annoyed, pointing at the bubble-wrapped box which had my name and address taped onto it.

“Do you know anything about this?” he said.

Of course in my tired state it took me ages to get what was going on, but then I realised that inside was an electric scooter.

Oh. I had won.

See, a month ago I’d decided to enter a competition just for the heck of it. It was one of those, “Tell us in 25 words or less why you want this product” competitions. Obviously the product was the scooter, so I thought it wouldn’t hurt to try, even if I didn’t actually want a scooter.

A long time passed and I didn’t receive any emails telling me I won, which I didn’t mind.

But I did, in fact, win the competition. And I thought: Whoa. By typing a mere 25 words, I’ve earned $200!

(Because, really, I couldn’t imagine myself riding around town on an electric scooter, so I’m going to sell it.)

It’s sitting in my room, and armed with the knowledge that I could actually win at a competition (other than FanFiction comps) I have been entering competitions all day online. They offer everything from free cash to a year’s supply of shoes to an ice cream maker. But, there was one thing above all I wanted, one thing that’s captured my heart for almost a month.

Doctor Who.

Oh God, I would have been so ecstatic to find a Doctor Who competition online. For a while now I’ve been immersing myself in the DW fandom. Already I’ve managed to watch…

(the following list is more for my benefit so I know what I still need to watch)

-All Series 2 except for Army of Ghosts and Doomsday
-All Series 3, 4, 5
-Voyage of the Damned, that one with Rosita and that one with the bus that is somehow in a desert

I convinced Mum to buy me Series 5, despite its rather high price tag. The rest I watched by streaming, but now my stupid computer’s playing up so I can’t do that anymore!

I absolutely adore David Tennant and Matt Smith, both of whom were amazing as the Doctor! I am so desperate to watch Series 6 and 7, and ohhhhh God I wish it weren’t so expensive.

That’s where my competitions come into play. If I win cash, I’m all good and I can waltz into the store and buy DW… And even if I get actual stuff, I can just sell it.

There. The rest of my life is planned. 😀

-Nicola

P.S. Who’s your favourite Doctor? Favourite companion?

Comment on this Post

