Lucid Dreaming…

…and a holiday wrap-up! What did I do these past two weeks of school holidays?

I slept!

I listened to brainwaves!

I went to Kings Cross and George Street in Sydney!

I got a hairbrush (again)!

I composed some songs and neglected them!

I wrote 37k words of crud!

I did no homework and I’m currently thinking of doing it on Monday on the bus!

I was cruel to animals (but making guinea pigs dance is just so cute)!

I wasted time!

I thought about stopping my procrastination but decided to do it later!

I got interested in lucid dreaming!

That’s about it. SO, to the second part of my post, I really want to try lucid dreaming! My fascination was born when I read a book about a lucid dreamer, and so I looked it up and became really interested. Some are born with the ability to lucid dream, but most learn to. Now then, what exactly is lucid dreaming? According to Wikipedia:

“A lucid dream is any dream in which one is aware that one is dreaming. […] In a lucid dream, the dreamer can exert some degree of control over their participation within the dream or be able to manipulate their imaginary experiences in the dream environment. Lucid dreams can be realistic and vivid.”

So if you learned to lucid dream, you could basically do whatever you want and control everything. I began looking up how to lucid dream, and it seems like it requires a lot of practice, but I’m up for it. Will you guys join me in my quest to lucid dream? It would be cool if you did, and super cool when I hear about the first person to successfully lucid dream.

It just sounds so awesome. You can do whatever you want. You’ll be wandering around in your own subconscious!

Anyway, to do it, you’ve got to keep trying. You need to make new habits – like doing reality checks, writing in a dream journal, telling yourself you’ll lucid dream before you fall asleep…

It can all be found here. Thanks, wikihow.

How’s my progress? Hmm. Well, I wrote one of my dreams in a dream journal, and asked myself while I was eating breakfast if I’m actually dreaming.

Am I dreaming?

Doubt it. I don’t think my subconscious knows how to type like this.

Must continue writing novel now.

Do I have five fingers?

*checks* All good.

P.S. If you want to try lucid dreaming, try listening to Theta Binaural Waves on YouTube (3 to 8hz, I think).

5 thoughts on “Lucid Dreaming…

  1. Wow, you did a lot!! Usually my holidays consist of minecraft, sleeping, and… no, that’s it!

    Oh, neat!! I used to lucid dream ALL the time! I still do sometimes, but not as often. I kind of started letting my dreams get away with me ^^” And to be honest, I don’t know if I’d want to be able to lucid dream again! I mean, it was always useful when I was having a nightmare (If I didn’t like my dreams I’d call up this crab-like monster who would “change my dream channels”, if you will? I don’t know how else to explain it!) or in trouble, but I’ve found that my dreams form the most coherent, complex stories when I don’t try to alter them!

    But yes, dream journals are GREAT ideas! Not only will they help you to remember your dreams more often and experience lucid dreaming, but I personally have often found inspiration for stories in my dreams! It’s good to have a backlog of quaint little ideas when writer’s block ever strikes!

  2. It sounds like you had a fun break! You accomplished more than I could!

    Lucid dreaming is something I’ve thought of, but the idea of sleep psychosis sort of terrifies me!! I think I’ve done it on some occasions, like being able to fly when the villains in my dreams reach me, or poking my eyes in nightmares to wake myself up, but other than that I’m too lazy, even in my dream world. ^^;

    Oh well, your tips are great if I ever want to try! Good luck on your journey to lucid dream; it sounds super fun!

Comment on this Post

