Winner!

Finally, I’ve finished! 52129 words with three days to spare.

On the 21st of November, 2012, at 8:46 pm AEST, I finished my first novel and won my first year of NaNoWriMo.

I really wish you guys had had the time to also type/write your way to victory. Maybe you can try again next year – or, you can try to finish your novel in the remaining days! Not impossible, but certainly very improbable… you could still try, tough! Or you could keep writing your novel through December and January and February and whatever other months you’ll need.

My last line?

And so she spread her arms like wings and fell backwards, knowing with certain that he would catch her.

(“He” being Death.) And then, of course, I added “THE END”. That was probably the most satisfying thing I’ve ever done in my life. It’s making me feel all giddy inside! I’m going to reward myself with an early sleep tonight.

Oh, and today was also the day I wrote the most words: 5000 something! I’m so doing this again next year.

At the start of NaNo, I thought I would fail and give up after 10k because of various reasons, like my lack of a plot and my history of giving up.

But I persevered, and I won.

~Nicola

P.S. Now I’m going to show off my shiny new winner’s bar on the forums. *smug smile*

P.P.S. A cool quote appeared when I published this! It goes, “There are three rules for writing a novel. Unfortunately, no one knows what they are.” –W. Somerset Maugham

4 thoughts on “Winner!

  1. Awesome, congratulations!! ^^

    Are your fingers sore??

    OH MY GOOOSH IT SOUNDS SOOO GOOD!! ^^ The ending is so cute!! ^^

    Awesome awesome awesome!! I’m glad finishing made you so happy, hehe!! Quadruple thumbs up!!

Comment on this Post

