8 Of Spades Ch. 3

Girl I’ve been all over the world, lookin’ for you. I’ve been taken what I think I deserve, and you’re overdue, and if you listen you can hear me through the radio, in the bright white noise!/em>

Chapter 3

“Let’s watch Super 8!” I exclaimed looking at their huge set of movies.

“Nooo! I wanna watch Bring It On!!!!” Veronica wailed, sticking the DVD case into my face.

“No! Super 8!”

“Bring It On!”

“SUPER 8!!” I yelled back at her, grinning.

“Bring It On!” Veronica stuck the DVD in and sat me down on the very comfortable beanbags.

“Hmph.” I stuck my tongue out at her, and she just hit me with a pillow.

“Come on, you know I only chose this movie so that you would talk rather than watch it. I want the juicy details between you and Ace!” Veronica’s plan had laid out in front of her. I wrinkled my nose.

“Nothing is going on with Ace and I. He’s just this jerkwaddy guy who somehow has some manners.” I huffed and hugged my Penguin Pillow Pet, forcing myself to watch the cheerleaders.

“I think she likes you!” Veronica told me with a grin. I grinned myself, and continued to stretch.

“I knew it! Whoo!” I touched the floor with my hands, and watched as some kids couldn’t even touch their toes. Now what would Kat want… I mean sure I barely knew her, but I had some of her secrets.

“Hey Veronica!” I said, reaching out to grab her high ponytail as we chose partners. Nick was at an ASB meeting, so he got to skip Gym today. Lucky duck.

“What?” She turned around in her simple shirt and shorts. Giving me a look.

“Think Kat would go to the Winter Ball with me?” I grinned, Veronica gasped.

“YOU TWO WOULD LOOK SO CUTE TOGETHER!!” She gushed, clapping her hands and everything. Veronica was a good friend, and Nick totally loved her. He’s been in love with that little oblivious girl since he met her.

“You and Nick should go to the Winter Ball together.” I told her as we jumped rope as one of the stations. Hearing the whistle, we switched and lifted kettle bells.

“Uh…” Veronica blushed crimson, she loved him too. Nick was just a wuss and couldn’t suck up the guts to ask her out.

I’m sure Kat would love to help me set them up.

“I see. I see. Does your Dad still hate me?” I asked, changing the subject.

“Stupid question, of course he does! But only when he thinks you like me or something.” Veronica brushed it off. Everyone except her dad knew that we were just the best of friends, nothing more and nothing less.

“Which he thinks all the time… Wonder how to get on his good side.” I muttered.

“AGH.” I yelled, getting pelted with a snowball at lunch, by none other than Ace. He grinned and came running towards me. I scooped up some snow and chucked it at his face. He ducked and slid towards me.

“I have something to ask you, Little Kitty!” Ace gave me a toothy smile as I brushed the snow off of my jacket.

“Well, getting my attention via flying projectiles is effective, but not preferred. What is it?” I sighed, Ace was like a lost puppy dog.

A really hot lost puppy dog that wanted nothing more than to- Kat, stop, you shouldn’t be thinking this about him. He’s a player.

“Well, Veronica said you would just love to go to the Winter Ball with me… So, will you go to the Winter Ball with me?” Ace gave me a goofy grin, while I thought of ways to kill Veronica without her Dad finding out.

“No, I will not! I have no interest in going out with you Ace Harley and I never will! Maybe if you hadn’t put yourself on me the minute you saw me, I might of had a different answer.” I said to him, crossing my arms over my chest.

“Well, I wasn’t the one checking out these arms.” Ace flexed and I just walked away. His arm dropped and he actually looked truly sad. I quickly banished that thought out of my head and thought of the other girls he could go with.

The Winter Ball wasn’t until Saturday and I had no intention of going. I never liked going to school things that required signatures from parents, aka the dance contract.

I just hated anything to do with parents… And here comes Veronica, scowling.

“Why did you turn down Ace?! YOU LOVE HIM!!” She practically screamed at me.

“No I don’t! I don’t like him at all in that way! He’s an OKAY friend and that’s it!” I told her.

“Huh. RIGHT. Now his hearts gonna be broken. I’m telling him where you live.” She narrowed her eyes at me.

“Veronica, I’m your neighbor.” I sighed at her obliviousness and asked who she was going with.

“Huh? No one!” She smiled.

“No one huh… I’ll just have to set you up on a blind date!” I giggled, then ran to my next class. Leaving Veronica out in the cold.

Well, getting stood up by a girl that you really like can be a real downer. The sad part is that I expected her to do this.

My next class was History, and we had a sub, so that meant no one had to do anything. Kat walked in and saw the sub, she glanced at me and sat down.

“So about that da-” I started but she interrupted.

“We need to get Nick and Veronica together!” She told me in a hushed tone, dragging our faces down towards the desk.

“We do? What do I get out of it?” I asked, staring into her ice blue eyes. She blushed and moved to get something out of her binder.

“Well, you get the pride and satisfaction of knowing you helped out your friends! I’ll even throw in this Scooby-Doo pencil!” Kat waved the pencil in the air and I looked at her skeptically.

“One kiss and it’s a deal.” I grinned at her. Her expression turned sour.

“Never mind. Player.” She hissed at me, working on stuff from other classes. She didn’t even give me a second glance. Something told me it had to do with her parents. The silent treatment was really getting to me… And last time I checked I only dated one girl at a time. I just flirted a lot.

“I’m sorry if my attitude presumed me as a player.” She gave me a weird look and sighed.

“Just work with me? I had this idea after I left you in the snow. But… Uh.. It would require us to go to the Winter Ball.” She blushed slightly, and it made her cheeks look cute.

“So in other words, you’re saying yes because you want to get Nick and Veronica together?” I asked her to clarify.

“Yeah.. Pretty much.” She muttered.

“You’re lucky I’m single right now.” I told her, her head snapped upward in shock.

“Y-You’re SINGLE?!” She was astonished.

“Believe it or not, it takes work to get with me. Cuz I’m Sexy and I Know It.” I started to whistle the tune.

“Sorry about calling you a player then.. I guess.” Kat said to me, looking at her feet.

“It’s okay. I’m just that hot.” I smiled at her and before she could protest, I gave her a quick peck on the cheek and ran for my next class. Looking back on it, she had brought her hand up to where I kissed her and kept looking at me while I ran.

Bases loaded.

Every time he kissed me, my heart leaped out of my chest. He hadn’t even attempted to get to know me! He just happens to know my little secret. I kept mulling over the fact I had to go with Ace to the Winter Ball when I realized I’d have to get a dress. I’d take Veronica with me.

But first….

“Nick!” I called down the hall to the familiar blond, he turned and smiled at me. He waited to walk further until I had caught up with him.

“Hey Kat! You getting along well in the school?” Nick asked politely. Know wonder Veronica liked him, he was a sweetling.

Ace on the other hand….

“I’m doing fine. I was just wondering when you were going to ask out Veronica to the Winter Ball!”

“The same day you and Ace make out under the bleachers!” Nick said hotly.

“Heard that.” Ace grinned and walked by us. I inwardly groaned.

“We are, however on our way to that. Kat has so graciously agreed to be my date to the Winter Ball.” Ace was still grinning like an idiot. Nick gave us a look.

“I thought you stood him up?” He asked me. I glared at Ace.

“I had a change of heart.” I mumbled.

“A change of the heart that belongs to me now!” Ace exclaimed as he walked straight into the door that opened up from the art classroom. SMACK. I gasped and then started to laugh at his dumbfounded expression.

“Hey! That hurt! Little Frosh!” Ace yelled down at the midget-y Freshman that took to the halls running.

“Poor you. Maybe you can get Kat to kiss it and make it better?” Nick smirked at me. Knowing how I felt about Ace, he knew what to say to make me squirm.

“Nah, she can save the kisses for the Pep Rally. In which we will make out under the bleachers to get you to ask out Veronica.” Ace leaned over to me and gave me another kiss on the cheek, then disappeared into his next class. Nick just stared before going into his math class.

Needless to say, I was late for 6th period.

You make me feel good!

I think we all know who the lyrics belong too on this one!

Happy Holidays!

5 thoughts on “8 Of Spades Ch. 3

  1. Haha, the beginning fight about what movie to watch pretty much sums up my life ^^”

    Such a cute chapter! I love your writing style, and I love the whole romantic-comedy-esque thing going on! ^^ It’s really entertaining!

    I think the italics might be something funky with this page; most of the text is italicized!

    This is a job for… Someone who knows about computers and interfacing and stuuuufffff! ^^

Comment on this Post

